I’m not going to give too much away here, I’m just going to hit the important points.

Back in the 90’s I drove my parents to tears with constant talk of the Power Rangers. Now despite some initial scepticism I had been looking forward to this years reboot…even to the point of annoying my parents in reminiscent conversations about some great moments from a show now over 20 years old.

Obviously there have been some major image changes for just about every character within the Power Rangers universe, and understandably so. I know this hasn’t sat well with every Power Rangers fan and I understand why, much like all the other reboots we’ve seen in recent years fans feel like they own a little piece of these franchises and when changes are made to something you’ve grown attached to a particular version of it can easily feel like a personal insult…but that’s rarely the intention.
Now I’ll admit you don’t have to trust my opinion, I enjoyed the recent TMNT films, I like the Ghostbusters reboot. I love the originals, but there are times when I don’t think I’m as precious about them as others. I don’t believe a new version does damage to previous iterations. There’s plenty of space for reboots and originals to coexist. But enough about that, let’s get to the reason you’re here.

For the first half of this film there’s a lot of material setting the stage for what’s to come later on – and if that isn’t the same as every episode of Power Rangers ever I don’t know what is. Pretty quickly everything falls into place, the new group of Rangers, the mentors, the villain. From that point on this film delivers pretty close to everything you could be asking for. The nostalgic notes are hit perfectly and it just forces you to grin like it’s twenty years ago and you’re seeing vintage Power Rangers scenes for the first time.
There’s comedy and there’s action and there’s more than enough nods to the source material. How can that not be what you want from this film?

It’s also worth noting that the teenage cast of Rangers fit the new versions of their characters excellently, sure it’s not the same as the originals, but isn’t that the point?
They win you over with the new feel and personalities of their reinvented characters.
Equally Bryan Cranston and Elizabeth Banks bring a unique feel to reinvented versions of Zordon and Rita Repulsa respectively.

If there’s anything you’re concerned this film won’t deliver from a nostalgia standpoint, fear not the bases that aren’t covered directly here are definitely built towards for the potential sequel that it would be a shame not to get.

