Joe Hill is a writer I was not very familiar with at all. I didn’t even know he was Stephen King’s son until after I had read the first volume of Locke and Key and I honestly think that was a benefit. I borrowed the first volume from my local library and as soon as I’d finished I ordered the full set the day after I finished it. The reason I loved the first book was that there was a scene that actually made me jump, which just doesn’t happen to me in comics. I was so enthralled by the story that I entered this world of magic and horror that I actually became scared myself. This is in no small part to how gripping the story is from the first volume all the way to the sixth you want to know what’s going on, the pacing of the book means something is always happening and is constantly entertaining. I am not a fan of the horror genre but I am a fan of great storytelling and this is one of the best examples of this to date, the characters are damaged but likeable and completely relatable.
Also the art in this book is fantastic it is very typical comic book art but with the dark outlines and a muted colour palatte giving everything a more sinister feel which fits in with the story very well. Gabriel Rodriguez Brian K Vaughan states in his introduction that Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez sing together and harmonise as well as duos that have been working together for years (Loeb and Sale, Gillen and McKelvie & Brubaker and Philips)

Some moments in this book will stick with you, it’s a dark story but there us always hope and thats what keeps you reading. So if you want a comic that’s really just a story about family and friends but still full of supernatural goodness and just a dash of Cthulhu mythos I couldn’t give this a higher review

Review by Sarah

