Supes

Superman is one of the most well known superheroes of our time. The new adventures of Lois and Clarke and Smallville are two great examples of introducing Superman to a new audience. Superman Earth One does the same thing with introducing Clarke Kent moving to Metropolsis and starting a new chapter in his life.
This is a great point for new readers to get into Superman. There isn’t a thousand books to catch up with and references to previous books that you have to hunt down just so you can understand one reference. It’s self contained which is the reason I wanted to read it in the first place.
It’s written by J. Michael Straczynski and illustrated by Shane Davis the writting is easy to get into I’m a big fan of JMS’s Thor run and the way he handeled that character so was excited to give this a go.
I wasn’t dissapointed, It retells the traditional Superman origin through flashbacks with the Kents finding Clarke in the woods surrounded by his crashed ship. Clarke is trying to find a job and can do anything he sets out to but really wants to make his father proud.
Traditional characters like Martha Kent, Lois Lane, Jimmy Olsen and Perry White have been introduced early which gives you a good familiarity with the book. The villain is completely new which I thought was really good as it puts all readers on a level playing field.

Overall I feel this is a great book and a great place to get into superman if you are new to reading DC comics. I tried New 52 Action Comics before I read this but felt it was lacking the traditional charm you expect from a Superman comic and I was more at home with this.
I think that JMS has some great plans for the man of steel and I can’t wait to read them

9/10

Review by Sarah Boothah

